Overview of Australia’s offshore petroleum regime

The Australian Government encourages the ongoing investment in, and development of, Australia’s offshore petroleum resources. This document outlines the processes to achieve this and roles and responsibilities of various government organisations.

The Australian Government is responsible for petroleum rights beyond coastal waters (seaward of the first three nautical miles of the territorial sea) to the outer limits of Australia's Exclusive Economic Zone with titles decisions carried out jointly with the relevant regional state or territory government.

Onshore and in coastal waters (the first three nautical miles from the coastline), the states and the Northern Territory allocate petroleum rights, administer petroleum operations and collect royalties on petroleum produced.